Marsh flag (Iris pseudacorus)

flag_crop_1200c

This is a close-up of the stalk of a yellow flag iris, which I’ve always called marsh flag. I was intrigued by the circular marks on the cuticle of the plant, and it was dry to the touch.

Incidentally, this is the first photo published which has been taken with my new Nikon D3300 fitted with the standard 18-55 lens.

One thought on “Marsh flag (Iris pseudacorus)

  1. Thanks for all the interest from dict.leo.org, and I suppose I ought to expand on why I call the plant “marsh flag”. Basically, I blame my wife who taught me that name and she probably learned it in Somerset.I agree, it’s an uncommon usage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

